The Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC)

Organisation of Islamic Cooperation flag

The Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) is a regional organization comprising 57 member states that are predominantly Muslim. It was founded in 1969 with the aim of promoting cooperation and integration among its member states and promoting democracy, human rights, and the rule of law.

The OIC is headquartered in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia, and is led by a Secretary General, who is appointed by the member states. It has a number of committees and working groups that focus on specific areas of concern, such as economic development, trade, security, and health.

The OIC has a number of programs and initiatives in place to promote cooperation and integration in the Islamic world, including trade, economic development, education, and health. It also has a number of specialized agencies, such as the Islamic Development Bank and the Islamic Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, which work on specific issues related to the organization's mandate.

The OIC holds a number of meetings and events throughout the year, including the Summit of Heads of State and Government, which brings together the leaders of the member states to discuss issues of common concern. The organization also has a number of sporting events, such as the Islamic Solidarity Games, which are held every four years.

The Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) members

If you like the content please share it
Scroll to Top