The African Union (AU)

African Union flag

The African Union (AU) is an intergovernmental organization comprising 55 member states in Africa. It was founded in 2002, replacing the Organization of African Unity (OAU), which had been in existence since 1963. The AU has the mandate to promote cooperation and integration among its member states and to promote democracy, human rights, and the rule of law.

The AU is headquartered in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, and is led by the Chairperson, who is elected by the member states for a one-year term. It has a number of committees and working groups that focus on specific areas of concern, such as economic development, trade, security, and health.

The AU has a number of programs and initiatives in place to promote cooperation and integration in Africa, including trade, economic development, education, and health. It also has a number of specialized agencies, such as the African Development Bank and the African Court of Justice and Human Rights, which work on specific issues related to the organization's mandate.

The AU holds a number of meetings and events throughout the year, including the Summit of Heads of State and Government, which brings together the leaders of the member states to discuss issues of common concern. The organization also has a number of sporting events, such as the African Games, which are held every four years.

The African Union (AU) members

If you like the content please share it
Scroll to Top