The Organization of American States (OAS)

Organization of American States flag

The Organization of American States (OAS) is an international organization that comprises 35 member states in the Americas. It was founded in 1948 with the aim of promoting cooperation and understanding among the nations of the Americas and promoting democracy, human rights, and the rule of law.

The OAS is headquartered in Washington, D.C., and is led by the Secretary General, who is appointed by the member states. It has a number of committees and working groups that focus on specific areas of concern, such as democracy, human rights, trade, and development.

The OAS has a number of programs and initiatives in place to promote cooperation and development in the Americas, including trade, economic development, education, and health. It also has a number of specialized agencies, such as the Inter-American Development Bank and the Inter-American Court of Human Rights, which work on specific issues related to the organization's mandate.

The Organization of American States (OAS) holds a number of meetings and events throughout the year, including the General Assembly, which brings together the foreign ministers of the member states to discuss issues of common concern. The organization also has a number of sporting events, such as the Pan American Games, which are held every four years.

The Organization of American States (OAS) members

If you like the content please share it
Scroll to Top