The Pacific Community (SPC)

Pacific Community flag

The Pacific Community (SPC) is a regional organization comprising 27 member states in the Pacific region. It was founded in 1947 with the aim of promoting cooperation and integration among its member states and promoting democracy, human rights, and the rule of law.

The SPC is headquartered in Suva, Fiji, and is led by a Director General, who is appointed by the member states. It has a number of committees and working groups that focus on specific areas of concern, such as economic development, trade, security, and health.

The SPC has a number of programs and initiatives in place to promote cooperation and integration in the Pacific region, including trade, economic development, education, and health. It also has a number of specialized agencies, such as the Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat and the Pacific Islands Forum Fisheries Agency, which work on specific issues related to the organization's mandate.

The SPC holds a number of meetings and events throughout the year, including the Summit of Heads of State and Government, which brings together the leaders of the member states to discuss issues of common concern. The organization also has a number of sporting events, such as the Pacific Games, which are held every four years.

The Pacific Community (SPC) members

If you like the content please share it
Scroll to Top