The Southern African Development Community (SADC)

Southern African Development Community flag

The Southern African Development Community (SADC) is a regional organization comprising 16 Southern African countries. It was founded in 1980 with the aim of promoting cooperation and integration among its member states and promoting democracy, human rights, and the rule of law.

SADC is headquartered in Gaborone, Botswana, and is led by a Executive Secretary, who is appointed by the member states. It has a number of committees and working groups that focus on specific areas of concern, such as economic development, trade, security, and health.

SADC has a number of programs and initiatives in place to promote cooperation and integration in Southern Africa, including trade, economic development, education, and health. It also has a number of specialized agencies, such as the SADC Industrialization and Trade Division and the SADC Tribunal, which work on specific issues related to the organization's mandate.

SADC holds a number of meetings and events throughout the year, including the Summit of Heads of State and Government, which brings together the leaders of the member states to discuss issues of common concern. The organization also has a number of sporting events, such as the SADC Games, which are held every four years.

The Southern African Development Community (SADC) members

If you like the content please share it
Scroll to Top