The Central American Integration System (SICA)

Central American Integration System flag

The Central American Integration System (SICA) is a regional organization comprising 8 member states in Central America. It was founded in 1991 with the aim of promoting cooperation and integration among its member states and promoting democracy, human rights, and the rule of law.

SICA is headquartered in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and is led by a Secretary General, who is appointed by the member states. It has a number of committees and working groups that focus on specific areas of concern, such as economic development, trade, security, and health.

SICA has a number of programs and initiatives in place to promote cooperation and integration in Central America, including trade, economic development, education, and health. It also has a number of specialized agencies, such as the Central American Bank for Economic Integration and the Central American Court of Justice, which work on specific issues related to the organization's mandate.

SICA holds a number of meetings and events throughout the year, including the Summit of Heads of State and Government, which brings together the leaders of the member states to discuss issues of common concern. The organization also has a number of sporting events, such as the SICA Games, which are held every four years.

The Central American Integration System (SICA) members

If you like the content please share it
Scroll to Top