The Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC)

Gulf Cooperation Council flag

The Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) is a regional organization comprising 6 Gulf Arab countries. It was founded in 1981 with the aim of promoting cooperation and integration among its member states and promoting democracy, human rights, and the rule of law.

The GCC is headquartered in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, and is led by a Secretary General, who is appointed by the member states. It has a number of committees and working groups that focus on specific areas of concern, such as economic development, trade, security, and health.

The GCC has a number of programs and initiatives in place to promote cooperation and integration in the Gulf region, including trade, economic development, education, and health. It also has a number of specialized agencies, such as the Gulf Cooperation Council for the Arab States of the Gulf and the Gulf Cooperation Council for Arab States of the Gulf, which work on specific issues related to the organization's mandate.

The GCC holds a number of meetings and events throughout the year, including the Summit of Heads of State and Government, which brings together the leaders of the member states to discuss issues of common concern. The organization also has a number of sporting events, such as the Gulf Cooperation Council Games, which are held every four years.

The Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) members

If you like the content please share it
Scroll to Top