The East African Community (EAC)

East African Community flag

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional organization comprising 6 East African countries. It was founded in 1999 with the aim of promoting cooperation and integration among its member states and promoting democracy, human rights, and the rule of law.

The EAC is headquartered in Arusha, Tanzania, and is led by a Secretary General, who is appointed by the member states. It has a number of committees and working groups that focus on specific areas of concern, such as economic development, trade, security, and health.

The EAC has a number of programs and initiatives in place to promote cooperation and integration in East Africa, including trade, economic development, education, and health. It also has a number of specialized agencies, such as the East African Development Bank and the East African Court of Justice, which work on specific issues related to the organization's mandate.

The EAC holds a number of meetings and events throughout the year, including the Summit of Heads of State and Government, which brings together the leaders of the member states to discuss issues of common concern. The organization also has a number of sporting events, such as the East African Games, which are held every four years.

The East African Community (EAC) members

If you like the content please share it
Scroll to Top