The Union of South American Nations (UNASUR)

Union of South American Nations flag

The Union of South American Nations (UNASUR) is a regional organization comprising 12 South American countries. It was founded in 2004 with the aim of promoting cooperation and integration among its member states and promoting democracy, human rights, and the rule of law.

UNASUR is headquartered in Quito, Ecuador, and is led by a Secretary General, who is appointed by the member states. It has a number of committees and working groups that focus on specific areas of concern, such as economic development, trade, security, and energy.

UNASUR has a number of programs and initiatives in place to promote cooperation and integration in South America, including trade, economic development, education, and health. It also has a number of specialized agencies, such as the Bank of the South and the South American Defense Council, which work on specific issues related to the organization's mandate.

UNASUR holds a number of meetings and events throughout the year, including the Summit of Heads of State and Government, which brings together the leaders of the member states to discuss issues of common concern. The organization also has a number of sporting events, such as the South American Games, which are held every four years.

The Union of South American Nations (UNASUR) members

If you like the content please share it
Scroll to Top