The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

Association of Southeast Asian Nations flag

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is a regional organization comprising 10 Southeast Asian countries. It was founded in 1967 with the aim of promoting cooperation and integration among its member states and promoting democracy, human rights, and the rule of law.

ASEAN is headquartered in Jakarta, Indonesia, and is led by a Secretary General, who is appointed by the member states. It has a number of committees and working groups that focus on specific areas of concern, such as economic development, trade, security, and health.

ASEAN has a number of programs and initiatives in place to promote cooperation and integration in Southeast Asia, including trade, economic development, education, and health. It also has a number of specialized agencies, such as the ASEAN Economic Community and the ASEAN Coordinating Council, which work on specific issues related to the organization's mandate.

ASEAN holds a number of meetings and events throughout the year, including the Summit of Heads of State and Government, which brings together the leaders of the member states to discuss issues of common concern. The organization also has a number of sporting events, such as the ASEAN Games, which are held every four years.

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) members

If you like the content please share it
Scroll to Top