The Caribbean Community (CARICOM)

Caribbean Community flag

The Caribbean Community (CARICOM) is a regional organization comprising 15 member states in the Caribbean region. It was founded in 1973 with the aim of promoting cooperation and integration among its member states and promoting democracy, human rights, and the rule of law.

CARICOM is headquartered in Georgetown, Guyana, and is led by a Secretary General, who is appointed by the member states. It has a number of committees and working groups that focus on specific areas of concern, such as economic development, trade, security, and health.

CARICOM has a number of programs and initiatives in place to promote cooperation and integration in the Caribbean region, including trade, economic development, education, and health. It also has a number of specialized agencies, such as the Caribbean Development Bank and the Caribbean Court of Justice, which work on specific issues related to the organization's mandate.

CARICOM holds a number of meetings and events throughout the year, including the Summit of Heads of State and Government, which brings together the leaders of the member states to discuss issues of common concern. The organization also has a number of sporting events, such as the CARICOM Games, which are held every four years.

The Caribbean Community (CARICOM) members

If you like the content please share it
Scroll to Top